2001 Virage TX cutting out

So I just had the carbs rebuilt and now see 6500-7K rpm's (was only seeing 4500-5K), my next issue is it will cut out while running. not shut off, just cut out, I can get back into it and it will rev back up to 6500-7K until it cuts out again. Im new to jet skis so I am kind of at a loss of what to look at next. Sounds like an electrical issue, is there anything i should test? I did some searching online and haven't really found anything helpful. Hopefully someone can help me out, or give me a direction to look. I will try to shoot a video tomorrow. Oh this is in a 12' jetboat.

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Jet Boat.jpg 
Views:	101 
Size:	186.9 KB 
ID:	475773  

Click avatar for tech links/info K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by Beachcustoms View Post
    … will cut out while running. not shut off, just cut out,

I can get back into it and it will rev back up to 6500-7K until it cuts out again. … this is in a 12' jetboat. …
    What exactly does cut out mean, if not shut off the engine?

You can hear it at the end, it cuts out and I feather the throttle to keep it running. What is the rev limiter set at on these skis? Could I be hitting the limiter?

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by Beachcustoms View Post

You can hear it at the end, it cuts out and I feather the throttle to keep it running. What is the rev limiter set at on these skis? Could I be hitting the limiter?
    If we could see the tachometer and MFD warning message area clearly while it was happening, that might tell us something. Maybe.

Tip: clamp the camera to the dash or seat rather than hand holding

CDI rev limiter is circa 7200 going from memory. When the RPM touches the limit it generally oscillates rapidly between full power and moderately reduced power. It does not cause the engine to stumble or not idle properly.

Could be a number of other things.

Water in the fuel tank