Xlt1200 problems after rebuild

Hello all, Iíve helped myself out of a jam numerous times from reading posts on here but this is my first time posting my own.

Last February I got a 2003 XLT 1200 with about 130 hours on it. I tested compression in the guys yard with HF compression tester and all read around 90-100psi. He said he just replaced the starter and bendix too, and it ran pretty good as best as I could tell, so I bought it. First time out on the lake, driveshaft stripped because the engine wasnít aligned properly after he replaced the starter and bendix... fixed that and properly aligned engine and didnít have any more issues with that. Engine started to run rough first day out so I rebuild the carbs and that helped a little bit. But still would run on 2 cylinders after it was warmed up, so I took it to the local shop that works on older 2 strokes and he drilled the carb adjustment covers and adjusted the carbs. Took it out shortly after that and it ran like a dream, for about 15 minutes till I went to a cove and started riding aggressively and the engine died. Long story short, after a long swim back to shore, I left the plugs out and the engine ingested water. Tried to get the water out by removing spark plugs and running starter but that never worked so eventually after a couple days of the water being in there the engine seized up solid.