Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

New user, 1999SLH resurrection!

Hey all, am currently in the process of getting my 99 SLH back running.
    Im new to this ski, ski's in general. Motorbikes have been my thing until now ...
    I thought it was all good to go... until i got to the water today.
    So i have used WSM carb kits, rebuilt the 2 Keihin carbs, freed up and lubricated the steering, rebuilt the jet drive with a rebuilt kit, rewired everything as the last owner decided to pull it all apart, i rebuilt the trim motor system, all good. Compression is 150 ish on both cylinders.

Its been firing up with no problems on the hose pipe, so i thought lets take it down to the water today and see if it goes.

Fired it up on the trailer, no problem. Backed the ski into the water... died. Then wouldn't start. Dragged it out of the water, got it started. The minute i pulled it into the water, it cuts out.

It feels like fuel to me. I think the issue here is, there's enough fuel to spin it up but once the jet drive has load on it, ie its in the water, there's not enough fuel to keep the engine going.

On facebook its mentioned that i should have a fuel restrictor in the return line, but i haven't noticed one. The ski is in the storage at the moment so i cant go and check, but do all polaris ski's have this restrictor?

Cheers! Hoping to learn as much as I can and pass on the knowledge.

Kev

Click avatar for tech links/info K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome.

If you have not already, you want to click this useful link.
    http://polarispwcknowledge.shorturl....t-things-to-do

And this link.

Idle speed out of the water needs to be about double the in-water specified idle RPM. Set it on the high side out of the water, say nearly 3000 RPM. Once you get it running in-water you can dial down the idle RPM and tweak the low mixture setting =, if needed.

Be sure to start off with factory carb settings, or really close.