Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

99 Genesis Engine noise

Ok guys. I apologize again for inundating the forum the past couple of weeks. I just got back from the ramp. I went to listen to the engine on this new to me 99 Genesis in the water Just put the new plugs in earlier today.

The backstory is I am new to jet skis. I just bought a 2000 3 weeks ago for $600. Then 1.5 weeks ago found this 99 to match for $1000 that came with a complete parts ski. I thought I could surely use these parts in the future. In my mind I paid $700 for a running ski and $300 for future parts. I have plenty of room to store the parts ski behind the barn. Only thing wrong with the parts ski is the pto cylinder has low compression. Otherwise it turns over and everything.

I did test drive this ski for about 10-15 minutes and it seemed to have plenty of power.

Having said all of this...does it sound like there is a knock in this engine? It was rebuilt 30 hours ago with SBT parts according to the previous owner. They did replace the driveshaft as well as the thru hull bearing. The 2000 isn't near this loud. https://youtu.be/tLD4RcEq8Zw

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20201028_133736.jpg 
Views:	48 
Size:	180.4 KB 
ID:	468519  

+1
    just because the previous seller says something was done...doesnt mean it was...usually means it wasnt. Also sbt parts are junk, a knock can be multiple things..failing rod, failing crank...loose piston....for sure the engine is failing

*** after watching the video that sounds terrible, id stop running it....it also looks like your thru hull bearing and seal are also bad

Quote Originally Posted by savageman69 View Post
    just because the previous seller says something was done...doesnt mean it was...usually means it wasnt. Also sbt parts are junk, a knock can be multiple things..failing rod, failing crank...loose piston....for sure the engine is failing