Thread: My First Skis

My First Skis

Good Morning All,
    Alan the Newbie here! I live in NJ right on the Delaware River so I bought my first two skis. 2000 XL1200 Ltd 2 owner (Fresh water ski) and a 2003 XLT800 2 owner(salt water ski). Both were relatively inexpensive, stock with the exception of a d-plate and decent hours (XL1200 110hrs, XLT800 70hrs). I did my fair share of research and made sure to check the important basics. Good compression, oil lines still connected, clean hulls etc.
    I'm looking to keep these as close to stock as possible but just want to do some of the basic maintenance/mods.
    After doing hours of reading on here this is what i came up with and now looking for your advice

FYI i have decent mechanical skills. I work in the auto industry on the sales side but started on the line in the shop doing basic maintenance. I guess i would classify myself as "shadetree+" ability.

2000 XL1200 LTD Condition when i got it:
    had been sitting for 2-3 years freshwater ski, no start, but good compression Mag 120psi, Ctr 125psi, PTO 125psi

Punch list:
    -Empty fuel tank, maybe oil tank
    -Carb Rebuild with new fuel and oil lines and doing the fuel return modification with all new intake gaskets.
    -Replace trim and reverse cables
    -possibly rebuild jet pump based on hours, still spins smooth and freely.

Previous owner claims the carbs were "rebuilt" which he wasn't really clear on that. So i started with pulling the carbs and they were not in as bad of shape as i expected seals and gaskets still pliable and not a ton of crap inside. I did notice when i pulled the rack written on the mounting plate was "xl1200ltd" in pink paint pen and the TE/welch plugs were still there.

Drilled out the welch plugs and started with my first carb and here is what it looked like. This is just disassembled and i have not cleaned yet.

I ordered the Mikuni rebuild kits, SBT intake gasket kit, Mikuni 95 jet for return mod.