Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Considering a Yamaha WaveRunner for ocean spearfishing (Hawaii)

Hey Everyone, I'm new to the PWC forums and I wanted to get people's thoughts on my situation. I'm over in Hawaii, on the Big Island, and I've been thinking about picking up a Yamaha PWC primarily for spearfishing. I have a few questions:

- How difficult is it to maintain the engine and the craft?
    There is no dealer on my island and barging it back and forth between islands to have it serviced is impractical. I did as much research as I could in the last month, including subscribing to 30 days for the service manual so I could read and learn what's to be done with the servicing intervals. From my readings and talking to friends, it seems straight forward, but thought I'd ask the crowd. I do work on my own vehicles repairing and maintaining them (to the best I can), so I'm comfortable wrenching some. We have a couple local techs that work on PWC's, but frankly I don't trust them after speaking to them and discussing with friends.

- Does the engine oil type and brand matter?
    I ask because, along with no Yamaha dealer on-island, getting the YamaLube 10W-40 isn't easy. It's all boated in. Would you recommend the oil made for marine over not?

- How many of you insure your WaveRunner?
    I know this is a more personal question, but holy smoke on the rates. I was quoted $800/yr. FWIW, I won't be launching from a beach. Only ramps. By law, I'm required to stay at minimum 500 ft from shore, so reef damage, if any, would be minimal. Anyway, just looking for thoughts.

- How does the WaveRunner handle rough water, wind, and swells?
    From the lineup, I'd pick the FX HO. While I don't plan on going out in small craft advisory or bad conditions, weather changes and just need to make it back safe.

- If I purchase one, I will be taking a dive partner along on the same craft and no other boat or PWC will be with me. How reliably does the WaveRunner start?