Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Questions on possible purchase that needs work

Hi all, just joined and am looking for my first ski, I know another newb! I'm not a mechanical moron, I've built engines, put a supercharger on my Challenger so I know how to turn a wrench. Having said all that I'm looking at a 2005 Kawasaki STX-12F, asking price is $1000 and comes with a trailer, the issues the seller lists are "Stuck in learner mode, gauge doesn't work and possible mud stuck in the cooling line". Should I keep looking or are these not too tough to tackle for my first try at Jet Ski's? Thanks for any and all help.

Let me out of here......I need to go on Greenhulk!
    +1
    Hard to say without seeing it it but unless it was taken care of really well I would pass and wait for a newer 15f. I had a leaf get stuck in the pisser on mine changed the hose out was all good.

+1
    Welcome aboard, AirborneSilva!

Probably not a bad price, but it may not be a bargain, either. I can't remember how the display works on that one. I believe that you can ground one of the wires (I think blue) and that will put it in normal mode, but do a search here to be sure. It's been discussed several times. A new display costs over $1K, but you can find a used one for about $400 on Ebay if you're patient.

If water isn't coming out of the pisser on the right front portion of the 'Ski, it is probably plugged up with a mud dauber or other insect. Not a difficult fix. I would disassemble the discharge nozzle from the hose use use a weedeater string to clean it. Some use compressed air, but I don't like blowing off hoses.

That said, the 1200 4-stroke engines are known to have a lot of problems with pistons, etc. You can spend $500-$1000 fixing it up and end up with a 'Ski that 's worth $1500-$2000. And if the engine blows up, it's hardly worth fixing.