Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

2019 GP1800R, VXR Cover recommendations??

Hi all. Brand new to the forum, but have gotten a bunch of great info already!

Tomorrow I'm picking up 2 2019 Yamaha's.

I got a deal, sorta, on the year old machines. But I can't say I'm totally happy with the dealer.

Anyway - I want to get covers for these things and don't want to pay list price for OEM Yamaha covers from the dealer.

Any recommendations on aftermarket covers? Any place to get a good price on OEM?

First of may questions! Thanks!!

+1
    I've been using this aftermarket cover for about 2 yrs now:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Yamaha-Wave...72.m2749.l2649

I first purchased one for my 2013 VXR. I liked it so much that I bought one for my 2012 VXS. When my Watercraft Super Store contoured cover disintegrated, I bought the same style cover for my 1994 Raider. When I purchased my 2019 GP1800R last August, I bought the same style cover. Believe it or not, earlier today I ordered the same style cover for my 1997 GP1200. The WCSS contoured cover is disintegrating.

These are not contoured, form fitting covers like the OEM covers but they do fit well. The VXR, VXS and Raider covers fit very, very well. The GP1800R cover is a little loose at the aft end of the ski but otherwise fits good. I just ordered the GP1200 cover today so I can't speak to how well it fits.

One of the things that I love about these covers is they pretty much keep all or almost all of the rain water from getting through. This is important for the newer painted Yamis. If water sits too long in the footwells it will cause the paint to blister. These covers are very effective at keeping almost all rainwater from soaking through. I've never owned another type of cover that's been so effective at keeping rainwater out of the footwells.