Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question 1999 Kawasaki 150 ultra starter problem I think

Hello everyone I'm new here just bought my first set of jet skis. Got a smoking deal on them two jet skis and trailer for only $500. The 900 ZXI is already running the only thing it lacks is to fix the trim. So I'm already up even if this ultra is no good I'm still off to a great start for the money.

So I pull the plugs out of the ultra 150 and it turns over just fine but as soon as I put one plug in it starts dragging really bad like it can hardly turn the motor over. If I put all 3 in it won't even turn over at all. I have a good feeling it's the starter. I'm pretty mechanically inclined I've worked on my own vehicles all my life but I've never owned a jet ski and I also have never owned any type of 2 stroke so this is all new to me. I would imagine that most of my mechanic knowledge would apply to the majority of 2 strokes also but I'm still learning as I go.

I hate to order another starter and that not be the issue. All three cylinders feel like they have great compression they blow my finger off the spark plug hole when I crank it over.

The thing wouldn't even crank over at all only clicked like it was in a bind and I found out the bearings on the jet pump were locked up. I pulled out the jet pump today so I could try and get the engine started before I go ordering bearings etc for this ski.

I also noticed that this ski has BR9ES(5722) plugs in it and I read online that some of these 1999 skis came with a different cdi for those plugs and some required the really expensive plugs R6918C-9. I'm assuming this ski has the cdi for the less expensive plugs since they were installed but you never know these days. When you look these skis up online most of the websites point you to the cheaper plug as being the plug for this engine.

+1
    Welcome aboard, RollinCajun!