Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

2008 Kawasaki STX 15f starts and dies

2008 STX 15f will start for a second or two then die out. Ski was sitting for a few years due to a leaky header. I pulled the engine and fuel tank and cleaned tank out and cleaned fuel pump housing put it all back together with a new header. Good battery, fresh gas. It will also back fire every now and then when trying to start. All 4 injectors spray gas when cranking over. Compression is 170ish all 4 but was hard to get a steady reading with my Chinese press on gauge. Need to get a proper compression tester and verify that. Any other ideas? I’ve tried everything I can think of but I’m new to the ski. May try to upload a video of what it’s doing if needed. Thanks in advance.

I’m leaning towards fuel pressure regulator. Anyone use this inline regulator before on a STX 15f? https://www.ebay.com/p/14028511408?i....c100854.m4779

This is how I run a jetski shop in the desert nmpeter's Avatar
    +1
    what is the fuel pressure? a ski that has laid around for a while likely has a bad pump
    the spark plugs are also suspect. that's the obvious and least expensive place to start
    backfiring kaw engines can lead to hearing damage. some muffs might be in order.

Going to rent the fuel pressure tester today so I will report back.

SPARK PLUGS! Just because they look good doesn’t mean they are. It starts and runs pretty smooth now. Still going to verify the fuel pressure since the fuel pump has some age to it. Thanks for the help.

6. +1 by:

+1
    high compression can snuff the spark

same deal with seadoo

plugs get glazed easily and to the naked eye "look good" as you've found

good idea to check the fuel pressure anyway and the other threads on the forum relating to the 12/15 series. lots of good info there that can keep you on the water and your cash in your wallet

welcome aboard GH!

Fuel pressure is a hair over 40psi. looks like i'm ready for a water test.

+1