Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Cranking issues STX 1200R

Hi, I am having an issue getting my 1200r to crank over. If it were an old VW I would think it is a weak starter or solenoid, but with a 2 stroke jet ski I am a bit out of my wheelhouse... I swapped with a known good battery, cleaned the battery connections, and then even had jumper cables connected to the house battery in my bus, but nothing has changed the cranking behavior, here is a link to what it is doing.

and here is its sister craft that runs fine

Any suggestions on my next steps?

If it is a starter, does anyone know of a good video guide? or a step by step?

Be gentle I am a pwc newbie...

Thanks in advance for your help!!!

Marc

I would start with a compression test. The bad motor doesn't sound right when it turns over. It might be hurt.

Edit: The clicking after it does turn over usually means a piston is getting hung up. It could be a starter or battery issue but I would start with a compression test for sure.
    Last edited by beekermartin; 07-30-2019 at 12:47 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by beekermartin View Post
    I would start with a compression test. The bad motor doesn't sound right when it turns over. It might be hurt.

Edit: The clicking after it does turn over usually means a piston is getting hung up. It could be a starter or battery issue but I would start with a compression test for sure.
    Scary... I will do that tonight, the ski was running fine when winterized at the end of season in 16 LOL

Quote Originally Posted by 3gear View Post
    Scary... I will do that tonight, the ski was running fine when winterized at the end of season in 16 LOL
    You could pull the plugs, hold your thumb over each spark plug hole and try to turn in it over to see if there is compression in each cylinder. You should be able to borrow a compression tester from a local auto parts store.