One more Carb Wizard Question

I just rebuilt all 6 of my carbs (BN44s 1.2s and 115 gram springs). I was doing my pop off tests and 4 of the 6 carbs had a leak at the pump body base gasket at about 30 or 40PSI. These are genuine Mikuni kits (from Group K). I am a good student and saved all my gaskets and had them laid out in order for each carb. They all match perfect and the order is correct (even watched videos on internet and they look same as mine). Rubber rings thickness look the same etc. Soapy water confirmed every time it was where the base diaphragm/gasket meets the body of the carb (yes I made sure it was not the BN38 diaphragm in there and matched the ones I took out)). I finally got tired of pulling it apart and putting it back together only to have a slight leak. I put the thinest coat of 1211 around the gasket and diaphragm assuming it was where they both met each other. Sure enough problem solved and and the popoffs were all around 75 (where they should be). I just want to know what the heck is going on. I read some others have problems where the oring was smaller but that is not where mine is leaking (all base). Anyone else seen this? I am kind of a perfectionist and am losing sleep now, so want to understand why I had to use 1211 in that one spot. Any insight or just knowing I am fine and others have seen this would help me sleep at night.

+1
    Are you tightening the screws tight enough? The bodies need to be clean...and the screws holding the carb together need to be tight.