+1

New Guy saying Hello, and have a few questions regarding my New "Old" Sea Doo RXT

Hello Everyone,

I am completely new to PWC, boats, marine tech in general.
    I did just complete a required boating course (in Canada, got my pleasure craft operating card)
    And I got myself a 2008 Sea Doo RXT 215 project, that I hope will hit the water this summer and be reliable + fun.

A little background on the RXT:
    177Hrs
    No service history at all
    The seadoo and trailer are registered, fully legal, purchased from a retired police officer that inherited it and did not want it. Unit was registered to previous owner that I purchased it from, and is now registered to me.
    Unit has some hull and other damage (more on this later)
    The engine bay does look good, no corrosion, no damaged engine mounts, nothing appears out of place.
    Battery is dead, it will not turn over, purchased on pure faith.....

A little background on me:
    I have ridden and maintained motorcycles for decades, also maintain my own car, I'm no mechanic, but ok with a wrench.
    I have been looking for a used pwc for a little while, and with my limited budget a new or a clean used unit was out of the question, hence why I got this project that I'm hoping to revive and enjoy. A friend of mine got an old RX 800 thats ready to go (super clean, good compression), so I got this project to hopefully ride with him.

Now the project part, what I've found wrong with the RXT (so far):

Bottom of hull is scratched up, looks to be beached repeatedly, with a palm sized area ground down to the fiberglass, but no holes or cracks.
    Should I try to seal the exposed fiberglass? or leave it for the season and take care of it in the fall/winter?
    Is there any potential for further damage? damaging the fiberglass? ( will not be beaching the unit)