Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    66
    +1
    3

    Transducer Wire Install - Drill hull?

    I'm picking up the Garmin 43cv on Amazon because it's currently $194 and has all the US Lake Topo maps. I want the ability to see accurate current depth along with seeing where I might run into shallow spots.
    Installing on a 2019 FX Cruiser SVHO

    I've see a lot of other installs, and here is what I'm hoping to do:
    * I'll use the ram mount to hold it. I have that all figured out.
    * Power is easy.
    * I really don't want to have the transducer wire sitting on the rear swim platform. That's asking for my kids to yank on it.

    I saw the image below on Facebook and I thought that was pretty slick. Any concerns about drilling into the hull? Any other ideas?

    My plan is to use a pre-made bracket, so I only have to drill one hole, the one for the wire.

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	54191377_2002379593193741_3314862923058249728_o.jpg 
Views:	226 
Size:	64.5 KB 
ID:	448538  


  2. #2
    Click avatar for tech links/info K447's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    40,962
    +1
    1,944
    Position the through hole as high as you can get it on the hull. There will be times when that area is at or below water level, so the higher up the less pressure.

    Ensure there is sufficient sealant inside the cable pass through to make it 100% water tight. And continue to remain watertight even if the cable gets yanked on. 3M 4200 Fast Cure sealant works well, let it cure for several days before use.

    Several of us using Garmin transducers on other Yamaha hull models found that the depth reading stopped working as hull speed increased. Even at 30mph it could lose bottom lock. Just too much water turbulence coming off the hull strakes and ride plate edge contours. Changing transducer depth behind the hull did not improve things much.

    I ended up putting my transducer directly below the jet pump nozzle and directly behind the ride plate rear edge. Another with a different model Garmin did the same.

    Custom mount bracket required but at least it would read depth more reliably at cruise speeds.


  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Canyon Lake, TX
    Posts
    526
    +1
    66
    most transducer wires are long enough to run all the way around the rub rail tucked up underneath and come up over the nose passing under the front gunwale. That's my plan, no holes drilled. although right now i just have it taped down to the swim deck.
    I also agree with K447, the placement you show for the transducer is not great.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    66
    +1
    3
    @K447, I picked up an aluminum plate, how did you attach the transducer to the metal, and how did you attach the aluminum to the ride plate?

  5. #5
    Click avatar for tech links/info K447's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    40,962
    +1
    1,944
    Quote Originally Posted by ytechie View Post
    ... how did you attach the transducer to the metal, and how did you attach the aluminum to the ride plate?
    This might help

    http://greenhulk.net/forums/showthre...=1#post3010226

  6. +1 by:


  7. #6

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    66
    +1
    3
    Thanks - that's what I'm going to copy!

  8. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Mass/Maine
    Posts
    61
    +1
    1
    Personally I would look at boat (not ski) transducers for my FX if I was interested, Faria is one such Mfr.

  9. #8

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Fort Myers
    Posts
    876
    +1
    40
    You can also mount it inside the hull. place it in a bag of water and try different locations for best results - you then need to glue it in place with a slow curing expoxy. Many have done this.

    Tim

  10. #9

    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    66
    +1
    3
    Right or wrong, here is what I did.

    I didn't want to drill the huge 5/8" hole that was called for in the installation instructions. I instead drilled a 1/8" hole, and cut the transducer cable. Fed it through, and then spliced it in the middle by soldering, wrapping in aluminum foil, and used shrink tubing at each layer.

    I used 3M 4300 sealant to secure the wire. Of course I also used zip ties so that it doesn't move.

    Any thoughts? I'm not sure if this is better or worse.

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2019-06-06 07.20.33.jpg 
Views:	118 
Size:	55.2 KB 
ID:	449337  

  11. #10
    Click avatar for tech links/info K447's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    40,962
    +1
    1,944
    Quote Originally Posted by ytechie View Post
    Right or wrong, here is what I did.

    I didn't want to drill the huge 5/8" hole that was called for in the installation instructions. I instead drilled a 1/8" hole, and cut the transducer cable. Fed it through, and then spliced it in the middle by soldering, wrapping in aluminum foil, and used shrink tubing at each layer.

    ...

    Any thoughts? ...
    Did the transducer cable have a warning label attached or in the installation instructions that said ‘Do not cut the transducer cable’ ?

    Does the spliced transducer provide proper readings in the water?

    I have much larger holes than 5/8” in my watercraft for cables to pass through, depending on the connector diameter. Some are below the waterline (location was selected by the manufacturer). A proper marine grade waterproof cable pass through works well.

    An example would be the Heyco Liquid Tight CordGrips

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	A4CC00F9-2201-4372-B238-D719413B82B5.gif 
Views:	115 
Size:	27.7 KB 
ID:	449338  

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Wake 155 Transducer Install?
    By Liquidforce in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-16-2015, 10:32 AM
  2. Transducer install: location advice
    By kasper50 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-09-2014, 10:43 PM
  3. New Transducer Install?
    By Ryallen in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-14-2013, 10:27 PM
  4. Drill Bit Size for Thru Hull Fitting on Riva Powercooler Install?
    By poof100 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 07-11-2010, 05:16 PM
  5. Replies: 21
    Last Post: 02-14-2008, 03:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •