Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Polaris SL700 high rpm issues

I'm new to this field and recently bought a Polaris SL700 (1996) I have read every post that I could find on this old ski but need a little more insight.
    I have updated the ignition system, rebuilt the twin carbs, replaced the battery, and verified the flywheel position with the piston for timing. The spec are for 18 degrees BTDC and when I first got it running it was 10 degrees at around max RPM. No Tach on this model. It was hard starting and kind of stumbled at high RPM. I adjusted the timing to the direction I thought was correct and it started right up, but was now set to "0" and still ran rough at high rpm. I went the other way with the timing which should have put it at 18 degrees but then would not start. I put it back to 7 degrees and it starts good but still runs rough at high RPM. Any thoughts out there?

Click avatar for tech links/info K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome

Is the update kit aftermarket or did it come with a genuine PVL manufacture stator?

The update is from SBT.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by Info seeker View Post
    The update is from SBT.
    I am not going to cast shade on SBT but we have seen reports from time to time of aftermarket stators that just do not work properly. The aftermarket stator may measure the correct ohms but installed in the engine something is just not right. Replace it with a known good genuine PVL (Polaris) stator and the engine runs just fine.

The CDI from SBT is a genuine PVL part, it is the SBT stator that is not PVL.

If you want to try a genuine (good used) Polaris stator it must be Gen III, also known as Update Kit type. And be for the same cylinder count as your engine, two cylinders.

http://polarispwcknowledge.shorturl....t-things-to-do

The ignition upgrade kit is an SBT Kit # 16-302K

I certainly hope the stator is not the issue. After spending $600 on the kit I hope it works as advertised.