Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Yamaha 700 engine rebuild

Hi all, picked up a wave venture 700 and 1100 which have compression problems on one cylinder each ski. Took apart the 700 yesterday and this is what I'm looking at. I'm wondering if it's possible to only replace the bad piston and have that cylinder bored or do I have to do the whole thing. I'm also concerned that I'll have to resurface the head because of the dings. I added some pics below. I'm new to this and would appreciate any inputClick image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3423.jpg 
Views:	70 
Size:	86.0 KB 
ID:	446252Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3430.jpg 
Views:	59 
Size:	95.9 KB 
ID:	446253Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3426.jpg 
Views:	66 
Size:	59.4 KB 
ID:	446254Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3442.jpg 
Views:	73 
Size:	99.4 KB 
ID:	446255

+1
    You need to address the cause of that piston damage. The top of the piston looks like damage from a lean mixture, often caused by a bad crank seal. The damage on the piston sides looks like faulty oil injection. Whatever the cause, you need to address the problem before putting the motor back together, or you'll have the same problem after one or two rides.

3. +1 by:

Thanks for the quick reply. A few things I forgot to mention. The guy I bought the skis from claimed he was a mechanic and that they had good compression but needed fuel pumps. So to start them for me he ran them on straight starter fluid no oil in the head in the tanks. He ran them very briefly but I'm thinking this was the cause? Both skis have the same problem and they were otherwise well cared for. I already went through the carbs and they were pretty dirty but I don't think they were awful. I'm trying to avoid tearing into the lower case to replace those seals if I can avoid it.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0553.jpg 
Views:	55 
Size:	71.1 KB 
ID:	446257