Kawasaki Ultra 250x Exhaust Rattle & Redlining on Launch

Hi,

I'm still new to the whole Jet Ski life and have been dealing with a few issues in the past year of owning my 2008 Kawasaki Ultra 250x. My ski is 100% stock (for now) and I've noticed a few odd things that she's been doing. At idle when out of the water, my ski rattles a little and I'm not sure why. It doesn't do it in the water (at least I can't hear it) and it doesn't do it when I give it a little bit of throttle.

Here is a link to the sound -

I'm not sure if this is completely normal (as I said, I am new to the whole Jet Ski life) or if something is actually raddling inside of the exhaust. Another problem I'm having (I think there is a fix for this that is sort of obvious) is whenever I gun my ski from a dead stop it seems to be rather slow at accelerating, the tach goes up to about 8400RPM and it sounds like it is rev bouncing. This lasts for about 5 seconds and then it "grabs" and I'm able to reach its top speed with no problem. I'm assuming the stock intake grate isn't able to feed the impeller with enough water but at the same time, it sort of confuses me that a ski designed for racing doesn't have an intake good enough to feed the prop with enough water. I plan to just get an R&D Intake to hopefully solve this problem.

Thanks for reading and hope you guys know what I can possibly do to fix these problems.

Formerly Ultra250 TN Aquaholic6801's Avatar
    +1
    Rattling out of water is normal... sounds like your prop/pump tunnel is out of specs...

Just a bit of advice... if it's still running, you may want to get rid if it, search problems with the 250x around the interweb... you'll thank me .

Thanks for the reply. Do you think getting a new prop/pump would fix this problem? We’ve done a lot of work and spent a lot of money on my ski to make it look brand new so I don’t really want to get rid of it.