Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

GP1800R versus RXP

I know this subject has been beat to death, but which is the better ski overall, the Yamaha GP1800R or the RXP/RXT-X 300? I've already seen the arguments for both from a performance perspective, but I'm more looking for answers in regards to the overall ownership experience longer term. How are they to live with, what's the regular maintenance like, which is the more reliable ski in the long run, etc? I've heard that the Yamaha's are hands-down the better machines from the standpoint of long-term reliability, but I owned an FX-SVHO in the past that had supercharger issues at around 100 hours that required a rebuild, and I don't want to revisit that. The only Sea-Doo I've ever owned was an old 90's 2-stroke GTi, so I have no experience with the newer models to base a decision on.

I'm sure that either ski will give my family absolutely thrilling performance no matter which one I choose. I'm not looking to be the fastest on the lake or to do a bunch of mods to it or anything, I'm just looking to get a good solid reliable ski that will be fun to ride for me and my family. Ideally I'd also like to be able to do most of the regular basic maintenance myself as well, things like oil & plug changes, without having to be running it back to the service department all of the time.

Also, what is supercharger maintenance like on both of these skis longer term? Somewhere I'd heard that both Yamaha and Sea-Doo have gone to a "maintenance free" supercharger design - not sure if that's truly the case or not?

Click avatar for tech links/info K447's Avatar
    +1
    Well, there are prior threads and posts touching on this sort of thing.

Broadly speaking, there is the engine, the riding experience, the hull, and all the bits attached thereon. The GP1800 has only been around since 2017. I have two.