Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Brand new ski question

Hello all, newbie here with a newbie question,

just bought a brand new GP 1800 and itís my first jet ski ever owned so bear with me lol. Was waiting at the dealer for them to prep it and the tech did all the regular assembly things and then started the ski and quickly revved it up like 3 times and turned it off. Is that not bad for the motor? Or Iím just overthinking stupid things? Was told by them that that is done to every ski that leaves their shop. Thanks!

Click avatar for tech links/info K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome

Dealer prep is a one time event for your ski, and the tech has a bunch of things to check and verify. That would include engine start, throttle response, and whether any error codes occur when the engine revs. The engine will be just fine.

Should you start and rev a cold engine every time you use the ski? No.

Read the ownerís manual, front to back. Do the recommended engine break-in process (not complicated, just takes a little time). After a couple of running hours you will be able to fully enjoy your new GP1800 (if it is a 2019 model it is GP1800R).

3. +1 by:

Click avatar for tech links/info K447's Avatar
    +1
    I will mention, it can be worthwhile to spend some time under the seat. Learn where all the important components are located.

Use a nutdriver tool to check every hose clamp for correct tightness. Donít overtighten the clamps, just verify they are all properly snug.

5. +1 by:

Awesome thanks for the peace of mind!

+1
    Well worth reading the manual and watching some videos

Don’t want Tom end up like https://watercraftjournal.com/stande...cued-capsized/

+1