Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    mac_man_luke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    South Australia
    Posts
    1,300
    +1
    27

    Vtech map questions / editing

    More questions

    I got my vtech when the maptuners first came out.
    My ECU in my 08 GTX LTD had unique software so it had to be sent off, read and a tune created.
    Intended at the time to swap from 42 to 60lb injectors but i could never get Jonathan from vtech to make me a tune (even after data logging and helping him setup the 42lb tune that i paid for)

    42lb tune was decent, was enough for 42s and did the job so i eventually gave up on the 60lb tune. I ran it for a good 50+hrs no issues other than having to run fairly high fuel pressure (70psi static).

    Had my issues at start of this season that i have been trying to get sorted, in the process i had to install a new supercharger wheel
    and upgraded to a 137x4mm because cheaper than an x wheel as well as a better intercooler (fizzle f1000)

    Gave it a quick run with the previous tune and 42s but was lean (14s and climbing) by 5000rpm so that was aborted (also found them to be clogged which wouldn't have helped)
    and swapped to my 60lb injectors i have had sitting around.

    I had setup a couple of tunes with reduced fuel overall, started with 20% expecting it to be rich overall and allow me to bring my fuel pressure down.
    Have not been able to run it full run due to still having issues around 6000rpm. Being going lean at that spot (but rich everywhere else inc full throttle) just wanted to check it out.

    Looking at the fuel map today in the editor and i noticed a few things such as some cells jumping up then down in the same line where i would expect them to just increase smoothly?
    graphic attached with a few things id like clarified, if im correct im thinking it could do with a bit of a tidy up

    any thoughts/suggestions welcome

    thanks
    Luke



  2. #2

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Jax,FL
    Posts
    4,600
    +1
    939
    At 6100 you should be into the boost a couple of psi so that cell shouldn't matter but it doesn't seem odd none the less. I'd have your injectors cleaned and get a good baseline. Also running static at 70psi is leaning on a stock pump IMO. Do you have a log file you can post? Being that you have some super special ecu file, feels like it's going to hard to fix it unless vtech steps in.

  3. #3
    Cosmicbrut's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    92
    +1
    17
    Ill attempt to answer a couple of the questions you had. 1700 hpa is about 10 psi of boost. 1000 hpa is close to atmospheric pressure and you are under vacuum below that. As far as fuel map, every tune ive seen jumps around like that. Pay no attention to most of it because you will only be actually using part of the map. This is roughly the part that is used attached. I do agree that 70 psi on a stock fuel pump might be too much for it.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	02044DF1-A655-4CA7-AD7F-9FEE30C4BF74.jpg 
Views:	91 
Size:	74.5 KB 
ID:	442573  

  4. #4
    mac_man_luke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    South Australia
    Posts
    1,300
    +1
    27
    Back to 58psi now with the 60lb injectors

    Ill check my new injectors but the have had less than an hour of run time and no obvious junk in them like the old injectors.
    Id probably just replace them as everyone locally wants almost as much as new injectors just to clean them

    Ill post a log file when i get home tonight, AFRs are logged via 0-5v from my innovate instead of the built in controller since i converted to an LSU4.9.

    And yea realise only very few of the cells actually get used being boost / load / rpms are very linear on these motors.
    I think my chances of getting assistance from vtech are about zero, if i can get it close ill be happy as it did the job fine previously.

    is it worth cleaning the values up? just fixing the odd ones? or just leave it as is for now?

  5. +1 by:


  6. #5
    Davrac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Dubbo Australia
    Posts
    735
    +1
    117
    Send me the log file with base tune map fuel data and I will take a look at it for you? Do you have MLV to view log

  7. #6
    DR2006RXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,067
    +1
    215
    Quote Originally Posted by mac_man_luke View Post
    Back to 58psi now with the 60lb injectors

    Ill check my new injectors but the have had less than an hour of run time and no obvious junk in them like the old injectors.
    Id probably just replace them as everyone locally wants almost as much as new injectors just to clean them

    Ill post a log file when i get home tonight, AFRs are logged via 0-5v from my innovate instead of the built in controller since i converted to an LSU4.9.

    And yea realise only very few of the cells actually get used being boost / load / rpms are very linear on these motors.
    I think my chances of getting assistance from vtech are about zero, if i can get it close ill be happy as it did the job fine previously.

    is it worth cleaning the values up? just fixing the odd ones? or just leave it as is for now?
    Ship them out , even locally for me is $20 each if they turn out good so $60 to clean and test all 3.

  8. #7
    mac_man_luke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    South Australia
    Posts
    1,300
    +1
    27
    Another tuning question - got the fuelling 99% but still have a few odd spots eg a mega rich spot at 7900

    If i change cells in the column 8000rpm does that affect 8000-8499 (the next column being 8500)? if not how does it exactly work?

    Also has anyone had issues with their vtech logger just stopping logging? mine now logs for no more than a minute and just stops (if it logs at all) - the previous dedicated logger not the mapx box.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. FS - Parts 2008 ECU with vtech license, map tuner, vtech data logger and 60lb injectors.
    By tocullo in forum Sea Doo Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-12-2018, 12:58 PM
  2. Best vtech map to start
    By lepapoiss in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-13-2017, 05:52 PM
  3. Vtech map list?
    By warick99 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-11-2015, 05:11 PM
  4. Vtech fuel map
    By spouk3 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-20-2014, 11:59 AM
  5. Vtech map???
    By tocullo in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-08-2013, 02:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •