Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

'15 FX HO Wont Start

Hi All -

Got a 2015 FX HO that always starts like clockwork. I've let it sit for probably 8-12 weeks since the last ride and today I had planned to pull it out of the water and store it for winter (in NC). Battery was naturally dead so I jumped it off.

She turns over but won't start. I pulled the plugs and saw nothing sinister. I do have a flashing engine light.

Here's a couple of videos - would appreciate any and all troubleshooting advice!

+1
    Have you checked for a code?

Total nOOb here - how would I go about checking? Do I need a reader?

Click avatar for tech links/info K447's Avatar
    +1
    Maybe the jumper pack for the battery is not enough?

Pull the battery out and properly charge it?

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by K447 View Post
    Maybe the jumper pack for the battery is not enough?

Pull the battery out and properly charge it?
    this is my first thought too. Need to use a new hot battery. You are asking that jump pack to run the starter, ignition coils, fuel pump, bilge pump, etc.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by nunyagd View Post
    No. Here's how:
    Attempt to start it again. When it does not start and you see the warning light flashing, press-and-hold the select/mode button (usually selects MPH/KPH) on the gauges until a code comes up where the speed LCD readout is.
    Update:
    I'm not totally familiar with the 2015 FXHO gauges, the mode/reset button might be nearest the glove-box, right side.
    Last edited by TimeBandit; 11-22-2018 at 08:05 PM. Reason: button location on 2015

Thanks to all for the replies. I went out, hit the start button to wake it up, got the flashing warning lights and proceeded to press every button, one by one, for 12 seconds... the display never changed.

Any other ideas on how I can get this thing to tell me what's up?

+1