Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hello fellas! Ultra 150 question

First off Im new here but not to wrenching. I have been wrenching since 1992 and started my first mechanics job in 1993 as a Mechanic at a Honda motorcycle shop. We also sold Polaris so my first experience on PWCs was when Polaris first introduced them and we started selling them. I also had a very old Kawi 440 and back then a newer 550. Loved all of them. I just recently got back into PWCs as I moved very close to a lake and wanted to introduce my two young boys to water-sports. I "stole" two project Ultras, both with bad engines and went back to wrenching on them. One is a very very clean 2004 with 61 hours. The other is a 2005 with unknown hours as the display is GONE!!! It was totally waterlogged. I have read ALL of the forums and done all the research on known problems with these and plan to totally get both of them up to speed an all required maintenance.

#2 piston skirt missing a 1"x2" chunk in the exact shape of 1/2 the exhaust port. It had water in the crankcase also so my best guess is that it was started on the water hose thePO turned off the ski first and flooded it with water then froze and water expanded and cracked the skirt. There was zero scoring on the piston or cylinder so I don't believe it was ran hot/lean.
    Thoughts??
    I have cleaned/checked EVERYTHING AND I MEAN EVERYTHING and all was within factory specs according to the FSM
    Going to test ride today!!
    Post ride report Still not perfect. I think it sounds like the same issue the other guy had with the slide not sealing properly. I’m going to pull them back off and check them again. I did see before I put the FA back on the #1 carb slide was not moving up like the others. I attributed this to not having the FA installed.
    All 3 compressions before and after test ride were 120-120-120.