Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

anyone know how to remove exhaust on yamaha xlt 1200?

newbie here , i dont understand how to post in yamaha forum ,, so bear with me,, i have a problem with my ski,,,,,only runs 35mph,,,,,,max rpm 5000,,,compression is 115 116 119,,,,excellent spark, will jump 1 inch gap bright blue and put you down on the ground,,,,,,,so my thinking is carburetors,,,but can access them without cuting into side of the ski,,,,what kind of stupid jap engineered this shit?,,,,,,or impossible to remove exhaust,,,,,i even thought about cutting the top cap off or modifying the body with a electric actuator to access engine since the jap were too damn stupid to consider someone might need to work on it ,,,,but anyway another story,,,,,so is it possible to remove carbs without destroying the ski, removing exhaust ?i dont plan on using the ski im going to put the motor in a jet john project ,, just too damn impossible to work on an engine in that small of compartment, but i would like to have it in one piece enough to go test ride it to make damn sure engine is perfect,thanks in advance

+1
    I did it by making my own tools. I don't remember exactly what I did, but I remember I had to weld handles onto sockets. Even with that, it took a long time.

+1
    It is a PIA. Gotta wedge the side away to get at one of the manifold bolts and their underneath too.Gotta turn stinger to get out.Forgot which way.After about 4 times got where I could take it out in 30 min.

+1
    There is plenty of room in the XLT hull. Once you get the exhaust out the first time you'll think its the easiest thing ever. The Japs are so smart!

+1
    Clarification: I made tools to remove the carbs, and it was an XL 1200, not the XLT. Looks like the carbs are mounted differently on yours. However, you might be able to make your own special tools to get it done.

Quote Originally Posted by butterbean_29512 View Post