Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    TLH101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Elephant Butte, New mexico
    Posts
    116
    +1
    8

    Head Bolts and Gasket on 4Tec

    OK, working an '11 GTI 130 N/A. Cam chain broke and took out some valves. Seemes when I replaced them, I had one exhaust valve, that I somehow missed. Installed head, with new gasket and all new bolts. Did a leak down, and all are sealing except that one.
    Question is, do I need new head gasket and bolts, if I never ran the engine, after these were installed new? I know they have to be new when rebuilding, but what about, if no heat cycles, after assembly?
    I think I already know, but just want to verify.
    Thanks


  2. #2
    Lightning1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    373
    +1
    29
    Bolts are junk. The gasket CAN be re-used, but with the time/effort, I would replace it. The sealing beads are partially crushed, so I wouldn't risk it.

  3. #3
    Site Admin Green Hulk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Morgan City, LA
    Posts
    37,101
    +1
    2,811
    Quote Originally Posted by TLH101 View Post
    OK, working an '11 GTI 130 N/A. Cam chain broke and took out some valves. Seemes when I replaced them, I had one exhaust valve, that I somehow missed. Installed head, with new gasket and all new bolts. Did a leak down, and all are sealing except that one.
    Question is, do I need new head gasket and bolts, if I never ran the engine, after these were installed new? I know they have to be new when rebuilding, but what about, if no heat cycles, after assembly?
    I think I already know, but just want to verify.
    Thanks
    Reuse the bolts, but definitely replace the head gasket

    OEM Sea Doo Head Gasket for 4-Tec Engines

    Genuine Sea Doo 4-Tec head gasket. The head gasket must be replaced any time the head is removed.
    420950770 $92.49


  4. #4
    Drewski1126's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Galveston Texas
    Posts
    64
    +1
    3
    Check the measurements on the bolts and if they are within spec I would just replace the gasket.

  5. #5
    Myself's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    3,368
    +1
    193
    It's a 130hp n/a, I wouldn't overthink it. I've done it a couple times, latest was on a 255hp, no troubles, maybe I just got lucky.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    broken arrow ok
    Posts
    931
    +1
    53
    make sure to spray both sides of headgasket with coppercoat, works great.

  7. +1 by:


  8. #7
    ncdoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Eastern NC
    Posts
    1,679
    +1
    179
    Re-use the bolts, coppercoat is good but not needed.

  9. #8

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Oliphant, west side of Lake Huron
    Posts
    49
    +1
    1
    Never reuse the head gasket!! They're a 2 layer deal, no amount of spray tac is going to make them right again. Maybe it would work for a while on a 130, I'd sure as hell never reuse one on a S/C machine.
    Bolt wise, just measure their length (from tip to under bolt head excluding washer) and if within spec, go for it, if over, replace those that are.

    Not to mention when it doesn't hold, the head bolts you reused a 2nd time are now probably stretched too much for a 3rd so now you _have_ to buy both plus time.

  10. #9
    TLH101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Elephant Butte, New mexico
    Posts
    116
    +1
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by Sandpiper View Post
    Bolt wise, just measure their length (from tip to under bolt head excluding washer) and if within spec, go for it, if over, replace those that are.
    So where can I find this information, (bolt length specs)? I have looked all over my factory manual.

  11. #10

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Oliphant, west side of Lake Huron
    Posts
    49
    +1
    1
    It may not be in an 11 manual, SeaDoo pulled that somewhere along the run because techs wouldn't measure properly.. I don't have an 11 manual and my 12/13 manual won't search (bad pdf) but from my 06 (215hp referenced) they call for max 148.5mm or 5.846 inches. Last head I did was 2nd use on bolts and they ranged from 5.839 and 5.841 so you need to be able to measure accurately, not just a ruler

    Torque is 30 ft/lbs first then 120 degrees more then again 90 degrees more. This is a pull!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Is it safe to reuse power head and exhaust gaskets on 1100 STX?
    By jproy in forum Kawasaki PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-21-2016, 08:35 AM
  2. 10 TIPS ON TIGHTENING HEAD BOLTS!!!
    By RX951 in forum Yamaha How To & FAQs
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-05-2008, 06:43 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-15-2008, 07:42 AM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-29-2007, 07:29 PM
  5. torque value on the heads, jugs, and cases on a 96 sl780??
    By gvnitup in forum Polaris How To & FAQs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-04-2007, 04:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •