Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

got something caught in impeller, need info

This is my first year with a wave runner. I have a 2018 FXHO. This afternoon I was cruising along and the machine made that dreaded noise and it slowed right down. I knew I had something caught in the impeller. This has happened to me before but it only lasted for a short period of time, thankfully.

This time not so lucky. I drove slowly back to the dock. When I got home I looked under and found a small piece of plastic in the impeller. I removed the grate and was able to remove the small piece of hard plastic.

This is a dumb question but what is going on where this little piece of plastic causes the machine to make such a noise and not able to getup to speed? IS the impeller not able to rotate last enough? Was it ok to limp back to the dock or should have I got off immediately and tried to clear the issue in the water?

Thanks in advance.

Click avatar for tech links/info K447's Avatar
    +1
    Debris caught in the jet pump causes cavitation. The impeller is spinning just as fast as it normally does, or even faster. The trapped debris pushes the water aside as it spins around, leaving a trail of bubbles.

Not air bubbles, but vacuum bubbles. The individual bubbles quickly collapse but the overall effect is that the impeller blades are spinning in a mixture of water and vacuum.

The impeller cannot efficiently compress the cavitated water to generate thrust, which is why the engine will rev up but there is not much forward motion.

As you have discovered it doesn’t take much debris to significantly reduce thrust.

Unless there is evidence of damage to the impeller, your watercraft is probably just fine.

3. +1 by:

+1