Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

2002 Yamaha XLT 1200 rebuild.

I recently purchased a 2002 Yamaha XLT 1200, took it out several times over the course of two week and then the motor seized. I took it to a reputable PWC mechanic in my area, and he quoted around $1800 for the rebuild. I tore the engine apart myself a week before I took it to him, and cylinder #3 and the jug where destroyed due to detenation. What he plans to do is rebuild the crank (due to aluminum getting in the crankcase from blow-by, purchased a used cylinder/jug and bore all three for even bore on all three cylinders, regasket the whole motor, new pistons and new bearings for the whole motor. Now my question is, do you guys think its worth having this done? I planned to keep the ski for a couple of years until I save up for a new supercharged model. This is my first year with jet skis, as ive never owned or rode them before a month ago. I have two other skis (2003 Polaris MSX140, 2005 Yamaha VX110) so down time is not an issue.

slower lower Delaware. And have a cottage on finger lake in upstate NY.
    +1
    If your plan is to keep the ski for awhile, you may be better off calling "PWCengine" and talk to them about a re-manufactured motor from them at least then you would have and 2 year no fault warranty. looking at there pricing the motor is $1349 but the total cost would depend on damages to your motor as to how much of the core they allow you. the way I understand it so long as nothing is physically broken like a hole in the base or broken cyl skirt you get full core. but you'd need to call and talk with them.

www.pwcengine.com