Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

2010 Kawasaki ultra 260x rebuild

Hello guys,
    First time with a four stroke. I purchased a 2010 Kawasaki Ultra 260x (JT1500EAF) for 2k. I asked the guy what was wrong with it... He said it ran slow at the end of the season last year. He thinks there may be water in it. but the oil was good ( not milky).
    He asked if I wanted to give it a run...I promptly declined. I brought back to my house..and asked my local dealer to fix it. They sat on it for three months! so here I am doing it myself. I'm used to two strokes.. this is my first time with a four stoke.
    so here's my catalog as a go along.

Advice welcome!

To start with, I had already purchased aesthetic parts, Cowling, Side rails, seats and such.. so I was already another 2k into outside parts (not including motor yet).

First off , the motor was really hard to turn. So I couldn't wait to pull the motor and see what was wrong with it.
    Turns out the main bearing went bad (bearing and balls were completely gone) when opening the case, then I found the #2 and 3 were journal sleeves seized and lots of shards. and the center crank washers also slipped. oil holes covered over.
    so I've ordered a complete bottom end and of course, a top end piston kit, all oem.. $1000 Crank! Wow!

I ran into a few little issues along the way. some stripped threads and such.. snapped a cheap tap into one hole. I got it out. but now i'm reluctant to tap it again.. but I have to. not an important hole (end jug). but I should do it right.

Here's some pics...

While i'm waiting for parts I'm cleaning what I can and replacing a few of the aesthetics on the hull.
    Out with the old and in with the new...I'mma little worried on how to properly replace the mats.

+1