Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    +1

Talking Impulse buy gp1800

So after I graduated high school I bought a 2005 gp1300, spent a lot of time reading on here and got it going pretty good. Fast forward 12 years, I have a wife and 3 kids and as of today a 2017 gp1800 I knew my 2 stroke pretty good but now I have no clue about the 4 strokes. Obviously their is a need for speed. All I'm looking to do engine wise is the tune but am scared of the potential supercharger issues I've read about. From what I understand as soon as you raise rpms the supercharger becomes an issue. Will tuning the PWC raise the RPMS to a dangerous level for the supercharger? If so, Can i get a taller pump impeller to lower the engine RPMS? Thanks for helping out the clueless.

Like a chimp with a ball-peen hammer smackwave's Avatar
    +1
    If you look at the Riva stage 1 plus kit they're running a Solas 13/20 instead of a 13/18 to keep the RPMs down. You'll lose some acceleration, but run about the same top speed. If/when you want to get past that stage 1 level you'll need the shallower prop to get the RPMs, and boost, up, so I'd say plan on budgeting the shaft upgrade into your future build plans. I keep telling myself that I'll stop with Jerry's stage one setup plus a few bits here and there, and budget for installing an updated shaft before the warranty runs out. If I'm reading between the lines right this isn't a matter of safe vs non-safe RPMs, but rather a degree of how much risk you're taking, and it's neither ever zero nor as high as it would seem from the failure reports. I know how I like to beat on my skis, though, and it seems like worthwhile insurance to me.

Congrats on the new toy!

+1
    Thanks. Is the shaft upgrade pretty easy to install? If so, I could do that and not worry about it then go stage 1+ and call it a day!

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by MDGPR View Post