Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Angry Intermittent starting fault.

Hi guys first post for me, i'm new to this world of Jet ski's " mid life crisis"
    Brought a 2nd hand FX HO 2015 model two months ago, with 25 hrs on it.
    The first couple of times it worked flawlessly.
    But now i have this Intermittent starting issue. It turns over and takes about 10 sec to start.
    It only seems to happen when its been run and then sits for a bit "I use it for fishing".
    After the second time it happened i took it to the dealer,he downloaded the ECU info and said the battery had dropped to 8 volts on start up and Yamaha suggested a new battery. " every time i tested it didn't drop below 10v"
    Easy fix i thought, so they installed a new battery and off i go.
    Next day i traveled 5 km anchored up for 30 min " same fault" straight back to the boat ramp i go.
    Yesterday i thought i'd give it another shot, it started 5 times in a row and then it done it again.
    1st time i cranked it for 3-4 seconds " no fire"
    2nd time 6 seconds " no fire"
    3rd time 10 seconds ish and it fired then ran rough for a second, then it was fine.

All i know is this
    I can start it at home and it will start first time every time, but on the water it's not as consistent.
    Its not a good feeling being in the middle of Croc country with a Motor that may or may not start.

Its still under factory warranty, but i was hoping someone may have had the same issue.

I contacted the previous owner and he said it never gave him any issues.

Help !!

+1
    It can be a common issue with the 1800 engine. If it starts to happen on one of mine i put a new set of spark plugs in and of course always keep the battery charged up. Only happens about once every 50 hours or so then but always starts.

Formerly Ultra250 TN Aquaholic6801's Avatar
    +1