Question 2002 Polaris freedom 700 oil change how to

Hey guys I'm new to the pwc world and machines just would like to know how to go about in changing the engine oil,help and maybe some pics would be appreciated thks.

Click avatar for tech links/info K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome

Click here, start reading up on your machine. Lots of good info to be found there.

These are 2-stroke engines, very different from a car engine. There is no liquid oil inside the engine to 'change'.

There is an oil tank and oil pump system. The pump slowly pumps oil into the engine air intake. That oil swirls around inside the crankcase with the gasoline mist from the carburetors. Eventually the oily mist flows through the combustion chamber where it gets burned with the gasoline.

The oil pump effectively replaces the oil lost to combustion as the engine runs. When the engine is shut down there is an oily film inside the engine. This is what lubricates the bearings and cylinder walls inside the engine. There may be a tiny amount of liquid oil puddled in the bottom of the engine, but this is minimal and gets picked up and swirled around again the next time the engine is operated.

The oil is a special 2-stroke oil that is designed to burn with the gasoline after lubricating the engine internally. Use a good quality 2-stroke designated oil. Never use oil designed for a car or truck engine.

so there is a separate oil reservoir that u have to check and fill to lubricate the engine is that correct

Click avatar for tech links/info K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by paulino966 View Post
    so there is a separate oil reservoir that u have to check and fill to lubricate the engine is that correct
    Yes.

Be sure to click the provided link.

thanks a lot for the info

+1