Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Winterize, stickers and mods for a newbie

I am new to PWC:s and hit my first one 2 months ago, a 2016 VXR. This forum is a great source of information and inspiration so I already have some mods on order ( Jim's plate, Worx grate, ribbon delete and power filter) . I have tried to search but still want to ask some questions to be sure I don't make any mistakes before starting to work on my ski.

1. Winterize: I have ran it on the hose, ran it off the hose for 10s to make sure no water is left in the ski, stabilized fuel with a full tank of 98 RON gas. Want to fog the engine, should it be done by disconnecting the hose from the throttle body and spray for a few seconds and then run the engine for 10 s?

2. Remove all warning stickers: the amount of stickers is crazy, need to go. Any spcial advice or anything that can go bad? Don't want scratched paint, glue residue or half-peeled stickers.

3. Removing ride plate and intake grate: Any pointers or is it as straightforward as it look, unscrew bolts, change plate/grate, screw back? Use of loc-tite?

4. Ribbon delete: checked DIY and one video said use loc-tite on the bolts with washers, i.e. the first set of bolts when re-assembly. Correct?

Thanks a lot!

African-American
    +1
    Removing decals.. heat gun, WD40 to remove residue and an old credit card to peal/scrape

3. +1 by:

+1
    I prefer to use a hair dryer to remove the stickers on a brand new ski. I'd be REAL careful with a heat gun. Mine (same ski as yours) came off real easy. Hand sanitizer works awesome on removing the gum backing.

+1

Thumbs up