Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Need Advise - How wet are these two hulls- Yamaha VX HO & Yamaha FX cruiser

2016 Yamaha VX HO & 2016 FX cruiser hull ? Stability / Staying dry are my concerns

I live on the North Carolina coast ( Sound / windy conditions )

I have no experience and purchasing a Yamaha 2016 ski this weekend . I've narrowed it down to the either the VX HO ( Price is a factor ) , however getting concerned about the ride after reading posts .

Need to better understand the hulls & determine if the VX should be purchased for sound like conditions . Don't care about jumping waves . Looking for a jet ski to cruise around on good days and would like to not get real wet on every ride .

Q. Can I take either of these ski's out and stay dry in good conditions ? I live on the sound and light winds are always present and a problem. I will most likely use the ski in good conditions and low winds most of the time , however I don't really want to get real wet on every time I take the ski out .

Q. Is the FX really a lot drier ride than the VX hull ? Explain
    Q. Can I stay dry on a VX hull or is it really a wet ski in all conditions ?
    Q. Should I expect to get wet in low wind conditions on either hull. If so I would prefer purchasing
    the VX HO due to the $$$ enjoy it.

In my opinion : If I'm going to get really wet on both hulls, the riding season is reduced by a month or two due to waters temps and does effect my decision.
    Last edited by dustywoodlief; 11-19-2016 at 07:51 AM.

+1
    Dusty,
    I personally think that the trim (to keep the bow up) is a must if your looking to stay as dry as possible. The only difference between the VX HO and VXR is the 2015 and up VXR has trim and no Cruise where as the VX HO has Cruise and no trim.