Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Question 2017 VXR vs. 2017 GP1800 - Which to get ?

Hello everyone!

I'm totally new to PWCs and would love some help on choosing the right craft.
    Alright so I did some research here and there nothing to concrete and eventually ended up with these two 2017 VXR/GP1800 , I did looked into the Kawi/Sea Doo, but Yamaha had upper hand the entire time as Im particularly fond of Yamaha products.

I know this is a difficult question to answer but what Im really looking for is basically pros and cons that I didn't already read in my research from people that know what they are talking about for example-

-Supercharged vs Non Supercharged (Im not racing or anything, but is it worth having in the way of having it and not needing it?)

-Overall longevity (will the supercharger bring me headaches?)

-Maintenance (Not afraid to get in there myself)

-Ease of tuning/Bang for buck (Just cause you never know lol plus I may want to go faster in the future)

The PWC will be used mostly recreationally and maybe some playing on waves.
    But most importantly of all really is that first one what exactly am I getting with the supercharger compare to the Non supercharged.

Thank you in advance for your time.

Click avatar for tech links/info K447's Avatar
    +1
    Totally new to PWC?

Have you had any riding experience on a modern watercraft?

The non-supercharged 1.8 liter Yamaha engine is quite strong and provides plenty of acceleration. Completely stock it is a very competent engine and the new-for-2015 VXR/VXS/GP1800 hull is well regarded.

There are some mods available for the NA engine and speeds are reported in the upper 60mph range, IIRC.

The GP1800 of course provides even stronger acceleration and faster top speed, stock. Modifications allow top speeds well over 70.

What kinds of water will you be riding? Passengers or solo?

Is cruise range on a single tank of fuel important?

3. +1 by:

+1