Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

MSX 150 overheating, incorrect thermostat, coolant hoses dumping coolant

Hi, new to both this forum, and jetskis too. I have no knowledge of them at all, so a little help is needed.

I recently bought two 2004 MSX 150's, both with overheating problems. I'm dealing with them one at a time, in the hope that what I learn from the first, might help with the second.

I now know the one I am working on has a stuck closed thermostat, and the other an incorrect thermostat, with no poppet, and so I am replacing both with the correct ones, which has a poppet.

But to deal with the first one, when it overheats it goes into limp mode, and when I inspect it, I find hoses have been blown off the enclosed cooling system, and all the coolant has been lost. (this has happened twice). I don't know if this is happening before or after limp mode, but my question is, why would this happen at all, is there anything other than the expansion tank to prevent this?

Hopefully, Les

+1
    Welcome to GH!

Which hose is blowing off and releasing the coolant from the closed-loop cooling system? One on the heat exchanger (big round thing under the intake manifold)?

Bad overheating on the Weber (the engine in you ski is made by Weber)... can cause lots of issues. A warped block being the worst. You *really* need to perform a reliable compression test on the engine. It's also very possible (I dare say likely) you blew the head-gasket and that is also pressurizing the coolant system.

Do you have any oil slick in the coolant... as would be seen floating on top the coolant in the reservoir?
    Do you have milky/foaming oil... as would be seen on the oil tank dipstick?
    What are you compression #'s?
    When idling... do you see a steady stream of coolant whizzing into the coolant reservoir from the small hose?

Cheers!