Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1

    GP1300 and GP1200 crankcases

    Can anyone tell me the difference between 2002 GP1200 and 2003 GP1300 crankcases. My GP1300 blew a rod and split the case and I just happen to have a good GP1200 bottom end. I know the cranks are the same, but the case part numbers are different and was wondering what that was.


  2. #2
    mudslanger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Huntsville Al
    Posts
    1,343
    +1
    54
    You can use the 1200 cases you just have to plug the pulse line ports. That is the difference.

  3. #3
    Thanx Mudslanger

  4. #4

    GP1300 and GP1200 crankcases

    Is there a write up or documentation on putting 1300 cylinders on a 1200 case? Or is it just bolt on. I have a 1200 but want to put 1300 cylinders on.

  5. #5
    R1SideWayz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    avondale,az
    Posts
    128
    +1
    3
    You will need to drill these spot through.



    Then weld some pulse fittings in in the place of the drilled holes.
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/PULSE-FITTIN...25.m3641.l6368
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	gp1300r_crankcase.jpg 
Views:	142 
Size:	81.7 KB 
ID:	399028  

  6. +1 by:

    WFO

  7. #6
    Happily Self-Employed WFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    12,864
    +1
    463
    a couple more options... the 1200R pulse line nipples are still available (I think... I have a few of them here in oem bags) so you could drill the cases to correct size and press the oem nipples in

    or just the aftermarket style like above ^^^

    or you can use some 1/8" NPT fittings with 1/4" hose barb and drill the cases, tap the holes and screw the fittings in

  8. #7
    Happily Self-Employed WFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    12,864
    +1
    463
    Quote Originally Posted by quinton View Post
    Is there a write up or documentation on putting 1300 cylinders on a 1200 case? Or is it just bolt on. I have a 1200 but want to put 1300 cylinders on.
    same cases, just bolt and go (besides carb=pulse lines and EFI=no pulse lines)

  9. #8
    So if the 1200 cylinder swap costs the same from sbt as the 1300 kit, is there any reason not to go for the 1300 cylinders?

  10. #9
    So if the 1200 cylinder swap costs the same from sbt as the 1300 kit, is there any reason not to go for the 1300 cylinders?

  11. #10
    Happily Self-Employed WFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    12,864
    +1
    463
    If you want to upgrade to 1300 cylinders and pistons, you will need a head also plus re-jet the carbs and repitch the impeller

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. WTB WTB 1998 XL or GP1200 crankcase and crankshaft
    By Mr Waverunner in forum Yamaha Classifieds
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-09-2010, 10:45 AM
  2. FS 1998 XL1200 and GP1200 Hulls - $400 Each- St.Louis Mo
    By nightrider05 in forum Yamaha Classifieds
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-04-2010, 10:59 AM
  3. Gp1300 and 2 stroke oils
    By Mr1300 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-28-2007, 08:21 AM
  4. differences between 03-04 gp1300 and 05-08 gp1300
    By TDSTYG in forum Yamaha Open Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-05-2007, 12:41 PM
  5. 1/4 Mile Numbers for GP1300 and 1200R
    By Chrisrokc in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-29-2007, 09:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •