Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Vtech editor

  1. #1
    Mothman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    West Texas
    Posts
    3,286
    +1
    1,940

    Vtech editor

    How do you change the rpm increments on the top of the table? Mine end at 8500 and I set my limiter at 9300. I've tried clicking on the rpm to retype it, highlighting to retype, but nothing works. The top left corner won't 'click' to highlight or change things either. I'm stuck.


  2. #2
    ptscon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    3,402
    +1
    691
    You have to request a map that has it. From what I understand the stock ECU has a limited number of "steps" available.

  3. #3
    Mothman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    West Texas
    Posts
    3,286
    +1
    1,940
    Jesus sent me a 9200 map and i bumped it up, but the editor doesn't read that high. I'll email him again.

  4. #4
    Sanfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    S/E Florida
    Posts
    2,540
    +1
    780
    VTECH is limited to 20 (vacuum/boost) colums and 30 (rpm) rows.

    While it is true you can request or have higher boost or RPM cells, you will still only have the same 20x30 cells. So what happen is some detail areas in RPM and boost will be eliminated. The downside is it can produce very sharp (cell) steps and depending on how you ride, can cause part throttle issues. It makes feathering cells nearly impossible (always a good thing to do). Again, this issue depends on how one rides...

    Just know that if the highest cell on fuel map is 8500, that fuel figure carries over to infinity (fuel injected at 9200 is same are 8500). Since no one really spends much time between 8500 and 9200 (its a transitional RPM point), not a big deal if its technically only allowing adjustment at 8500 max. Same applies to timing (but lower rpm still).

    All Jesus did was raise your RPM point.

    Don't over think this, many of us with fast skis have no issues in this area.

  5. +1 by:


  6. #5
    ptscon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    3,402
    +1
    691
    Hmm if your last entry is at 8500 how can the motor spin higher without going lean if the fuel volume is the same at 8500 and say 8900?

    I was wondering about this as well, my map goes up to 8600 but it doesn't seem to go lean above that.

  7. #6
    Sanfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    S/E Florida
    Posts
    2,540
    +1
    780
    To put it simply, because it more likely that its *rich* at 8600 and gradually moves to ideal at peak rpm. Even with data logger, no one really "tunes" between 8600 and 8800 rpm if you are going WFO to say 8900rpm. Besides, if you have the RPM limiter = 8900, you will most likely be operating at mechanical RPM limit well under that anyways (hopefully).

    Guys, if limiter is set to 9200rpm, you really don't need a 9200 fuel cell adjustment. The limiter is not for constant operation!

  8. #7
    Mothman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    West Texas
    Posts
    3,286
    +1
    1,940
    Jesus sent a 9200 tune, I bumped to 9300 so I could run 9200 under wot. I will tune this cell by cell from idle to 9800 (I just emailed Jesus and he's working on it) so I can reliably, safely, ride at any rpm at any given throttle opening at any given time and not worry about issues. I actually would run 83-8500 rpm (not wot) on an 8800 tune because it would peg the limiter over 3/4throttle. I've 'feathered' the changes well, though you're correct in the difference increasing cell to cell when Jesus changes the final cell to a higher rpm, 9800 in this case. I'll get it right, but it'll take time. I'm just worried it's maxing the injectors out, but Jesus swears the 80lb units will be fine and to run a higher base pressure, 65psi or so. I'll try it but I'm worried. I may try a set of ID's if I get a bad 'feel' from it running hard.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Vtech Map Editor RPM range
    By Adrenaline Junkie in forum Sea Doo ECU Support
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-11-2017, 08:16 PM
  2. Teaser : Vtech map editor - edit the tunes yourself!
    By VTECH.SE in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 74
    Last Post: 06-07-2016, 06:41 AM
  3. 300 Vtech Editor MS correction maps
    By Adrenaline Junkie in forum Sea Doo ECU Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-02-2016, 06:34 PM
  4. vtech map editor
    By skidoochris in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-28-2015, 09:44 AM
  5. Vtech Map Editor Cost (maps seem lean for my setup/location)
    By scantone in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12-07-2014, 02:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •