Bought a 1999 Yamaha suv but I'm nervous it's going to grenade on me!!

I've rented a few jet skis in my life and had a blast with them. Decided to buy one and got an suv. I was a gm tech at a dealership for ten years and I've been a fork lift mechanic for the last 5 years. Im a good wrench but they don't put to many 2 stroke engines in cars and fork lifts lol...

I checked the compression 120 across the board. So I think I have a good start. Before I bought it I checked to make sure the oil lines were still connected. They were, but 2 cable ties were missing. So I will be replacing all the hoses along with stainless clamps. I plan on removing the oil tank and cleaning it out also. Can I clean the oil pump? Should I just premix with a block off?

Im going to rebuild the carbs right away possibly modifying the carbs by drilling out the return. Mikuni kits are what I'm hearing is the way to go? Please tell me if I'm wrong. Also are the settings different for each carb? I'm going to replace all the fuel lines and filters as well clean the tank out. Should I check the reeds while I'm in there? Should I use carbon fiber reeds? I have no clue what the best option is.

I bought a Yamaha suv dealership service manual off of eBay. Hoping that shows me how to set the carbs. I've read these engines can run a long time if well maintained. I plan on being pretty paranoid constantly checking my spark plugs to make sure it's not running lean. PLEASE tell me if I'm missing anything!!! I pick it up tomorrow

+1