Just got a 2000 Ultra 150 and 2000 1100 STX Di

So I came across a deal and ended up with the two skis listed in the title. The Ultra has 139 hr and the STX has 150. I have done a bit of research and know that I should replace the oil and fuel lines on these machines as well as seriously consider some other mods such as the triple pisser and pimer for the Ultra. I got the skis from friend of mine and know the history since they were new with no major problems as of yet. After doing some research, I am wondering if there is anything that I should go ahead and do for preventative maintenance such as top end or crankshaft bearings? Seems like there are lots of posts regarding crank bearings failing and piston burn. Found some other posts that mention a top end every 100 hours, one the says top end at 150 hours, and one that mentions crank work every 80 hours.

I am relatively new to the pwc world. I took on a Polaris MSX 110 project over the winter and have it running quite well now. These Kawasaki's will be my second and third machines. I am very technically inclined and don't mind the work but also don't want to go overboard and waste time on something that isn't truly necessary.

Thanks all, any recommendations would be appreciated.

+1
    Do a compression test on both. This will give you some idea of the condition of the top ends.

The piston/crank failures you are reading about are usually due to clogged carbs from sitting too long with bad gas. Then the owner pulls them out of storage and tries to ride them, they run lean and burn up the motor. Or water gets in the motor and they sell it to an unsuspecting person who tries to run it and ruins the motor in the process.