+1

help with new engine install.... 1st start on xlt 1200

so i installed a new 1200v engine in my 2001 yamaha xlt 1200. anyways i hit the start button a few times to get fuel thru the lines and finally it started. About 3 seconds after starting the rpm's starting rising drastically so i hit the "stop" button immediately. I had to stop working on it at that point cuz it was getting too late and i didn't wanna wake the neighbors. I am really hoping that it will be a simple idle adjustment by turning the idle adjust screw. I am going to test it out again in the morning. Any thoughts on this? someone i know had suggested that an air leak may cause that. Any suggestions or thoughts would be greatly appreciated due to the fact that i am very new to this but i do have a fair amount of knowledge cuz i read everything that i come across and spend hours every night trying to learn as much as possible.

+1
    I did oil block off kit and am running 40/1 premix . i have a D plate installed and i did full carb rebuild kit on all 3 carbs so i am pretty sure that i have run thru everything possible during my install and i am very anal at taking my time and doing things perfect to spec

+1
    Hey there Diesel...

Did you pressure test the motor before it went into the hull.?
    - It's not a particularly difficult test to perform.
    - (it's believed that around 50% of all 2stroke engines built by anyone, Pro's included have some form of air leak from minor to motherfucker.!)

Now then the fact that the motor turned off when you hit the stop button would indicate you "probably"? didn't have a lean runaway incident..

Did you synchronize the carbs when you rebuilt them.?

It's a a scary moment when one of these 2stroke fuckers run away with themselves..
    -meanwhile you're running around like a goddamn headless chicken...

Anyway back your adjuster out all the way. (not so much it screws clean out the retainer, just enough it lets the throttle butterfly's close completely.)