1997 GTX MPEM Question

I recently purchased an aftermarket Arieltek MPEM for my 1997 SeaDoo GTX, at a savings of over $750 CDN funds, over and above the Bombardier unit. The 5 amp was blowing . Did all the diagnostics that I could based on info from the net. I am not that technical. Plugged the new MPEM in and the machine fired right up, in the driveway. Only function lost, and I was made aware of it up front, is that the DESS function is now disabled and the machine will start with any key. Have yet to put in the water.

Question 1:

The manual for the new MPEM says that it is programmed to operate hand in hand with the
    engine timing set to -4 degrees (based on the #8 stamping designation on block beside serial number plate) whereas my engine is
    currently set at -1 degrees (based on the #5 stamping designation on my block).
    Will this cause a problem / cause damage to my machine, if I do not have the timing adjusted? If no damage per se,
    with the timing off / retarded by 3 degrees too much, from a performance
    view point, would this effect either the "out of the hole" or "top end"
    performance?

Question 2:

The engine now idles @ 3000 r.p.m. Will this be a problem or should I wait to see what r.p.m. is with machine in water? And if still @ 3000, should it be adjusted down and if so, to what r.p.m.?

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated!

+1
    Welcome to GH Holt!

The Arieltek MPEM's have a button to adjust the timing curve on them, set it in accordance with the service manual guidelines to the mark stamped into the engine case next to the engine ID tag just above the pto.

3K rpm is just about perfect for the '97 GTX, it really boils down to personal preference and the weight of the primary rider a bigger guy want's it set to 3K and a smaller person maybe tweak it down to 2800 or so.