Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

SL700 No spark after ignition upgrade

I'm a tech and did the swap out with the kit ('96 to gen3). The unit had a weak Ignition module previously. I have no spark. I am testing the excitor voltage at the purple wire and am only getting 5 VAC (connected or not to module). Impedence is testing 5.5 Ohms, per spec. I can't find a voltage spec for this but I am assuming it should be in the triple digits. I had a good look at that flywheel before I reinstalled it and saw no cracks, no loose magnet. Did I fart during reinstallation? If the magnet was loose, would I not hear that while cranking?
    Thanks in advance.

Click avatar for tech links/info K447's Avatar
    +1
    Check the stator black wire ohms to engine case ground. Should be 0.0 ohms. The stator ground is through one of the stator mounting bolts. sometimes thread lock compound can interfere with the grounding to the actual engine case.

Also check that the inline connector in the stator cable is good. No bent pins, pulled wires, etc.

grounds verified good. I had to adjust the pigtail wires out of the new stator for length as they go through the grommet. They were too long out of the box and when I was installing the stator realized that the ring gear would contact them. I am suspicious that perhaps the purple wire may be rubbing against the flywheel, grounding out the voltage. I am currently pulling it apart, the ring gear teeth haven't hit anything but maybe underneath. Gotta pull flywheel again to see. Hopefully it comes off a bit easier this time.

4. +1 by: