Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Rectifier location on a 2009 rxt is 255hp?

Does anyone know where it is located? My Jet ski sunked and i got everything fixed now. Drained all the oil and got all the water out. I took it out on the lake and now it shows the battery and the engine light. I put a garden hose and it reads 12.6v while running. Does that mean low? What is it supposed to run at? 13.3v? I checked all the fuses and they seem to be fine. I am a car Mechanic so i am pretty handy. I guess a rectifier would probably fix my problem? Where is it located and what should it be charging at while running? Thanx for any input.

+1
    It's mounted on the air intake silencer next to fuel tank. You can access it from the front storage area, remove the bin and look under the steering column.

+1
    before you throw money at one, get your multy meter on to the harness. there is 3 wires running back to the engine stator/mag.. check resistace across the 3 wires.. got to be between 0.1 and 1 Ohm. if it is throw a rectifier at it.

Quote Originally Posted by steven mace View Post
    before you throw money at one, get your multy meter on to the harness. there is 3 wires running back to the engine stator/mag.. check resistace across the 3 wires.. got to be between 0.1 and 1 Ohm. if it is throw a rectifier at it.
    Where do I find this harness location? So if it is between 0.1 and 1 ohm does it mean I need a rectifier or doesn't need a rectifier? Thanx for your help guys

+1
    the Rectifier has two harness plugs i think. a 2 pin (goes to the battery) and a 3 pin plug (comes from the magneto pickup on the pto cover)
    can test the 3 pin harness at the Rectifier or from the harness 3 pin plug coming out of the pto cover (i think 3 yellow wires)

you are testing for a short or a brake in the magneto windings. the windings are like the wire windings in a alternator. if they become shorted to ground or broken it wont charge corectly.