Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Flush out/ Salt away

So I bought my '12 RXTX 260 AS in 2013 as a 2012 holdover, it was purchased in ohio and has only seen freshwater...only have 15 hours on it, i also have Riva stage 1 done.. Moved down to the space coast in florida in december. Seems like noone rides ski's like we do in ohio, marina's don't have jet ski docks, don't carry high octane etc, but my biggest concern is flushing my ski. I think i'm going to put in water this coming weekend. I live right on the Indian River and the water is considered brackish. I'm also a 10 min ride to the ocean if I dare. The closest ramp to me is about 15 minutes away and they don't have a flush out station. My question is 2 fold, 1. How much time do I have before thiings would get ruined if I can't flush for say 30-45 minutes till i get home? and 2. Should I be flushing with salt away? I know these sound noobish, but I'm new at this game and there aren't any reputable shops in the area. So I figure I'd come on here since this is easily the most helpful forum.

PS. Anyone around the Space Coast in florida?

+1
    I don't believe waiting an hour to flush would be harmfull, I use a Salt Away product for the flush and also to rinse the ski and motor, can't hurt and inexpensive. Most the saltwater boaters I know use it.... next day I mist engine with WD-40....

3. +1 by:

thanks, thats the only thing thats really prevented me from riding it..looks like its time to take it out and enjoy it..lol

+1
    I ride salt almost exclusively. However, with every ski I've ever owned I stop by a fresh water canal on way home for a quick ride/flush. I prefer this method as I don't run the risk of overheating the carbon seal and water gets everywhere. So if you can find a fresh water canal, you would be better off doing that.