+1

1996 ZXI 900 engine problems

Hello all

Iím just getting onto this forum to get some help with my ZXI 900 I bought a couple months ago. Iíve used the forum to get familiar with the ski, and fix problems such as the frozen trim motor, clogged temp sensor, homemade sponsons, and switching over to pre-mix. I have been building 2-stroke dirt bike motors for 20 years, so I am very knowledgeable about motors.

For the first two weekend rides, the bike ran great. Lots of power, revved out to 7000 rpm. On the third weekend, it tended to be hard to start after a stall/crash off the ski, and some novice rider friends ended up killing the battery after not being able to get it started. We towed it to shore, and after about 15 minutes, the battery regained some juice, I changed plugs for good measure, put it on reserve (for the first time ever), and I was able to get it started. It again ran fine, revved out great, got about 20-30 min of riding on it, but the battery appeared not to be charging, and by the end of the day, battery was toast. It also seemed to be bogging a little more with fast throttle action.

At home, I determined it wasnít charging while running, so I popped open the e-box, and found the problem; one of the two stator wires backed out of the connector, and wasnít making contact. I fixed this, tested all the stator coils, and everything specíd out fine. Gave it a quick start and the voltage was 12.6+ running, so some charge happening now.

Took it out to ride yesterday, and on the first run out, it would bog hard down low, and only rev out to 6000 rpm. If you feather the throttle, it will get up on plane to 6000rpm, but if you advance the throttle quickly, it would bog out and die. Playing with the choke only made it worse. At WOT, 6000 rpm, it would surge a little bit.