Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

MSX150 Oil In Coolant

Hello,

I am new to the polaris forum and greenhulk but not to jetskis.

I recently purchased a msx150 turbo that has an issue that I have been research on this forum and the helpful link with all of the url's to troubleshoot. I wanted to get the experts thoughts on where to start with the symptoms I am seeing. The previous owner stated he bought the ski as a package and when he went to put it on the water it would not go above 3500 rpm's. The ski starts/runs/idles fine. The compression is 128/130. One of the symptoms right now as I have it are the coolant reservoir is full of oil, not just a little mixed into the coolant but full. It is almost like someone filled it with oil instead of the proper place. The other issue that I have immediately noticed is that the oil is way above full. It is up past the full point on the stick even when cold. It seems to be thin and more runny that normal but not milky like its being contaminated. I am just looking for a good place to start the troubleshooting process. Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions.

+1
    It has a blown head gasket. I would start off by pulling the engine and researching all this engine needs when rebuilding. I will compile a list of rip does not beat me to it.

+1
    First off... Welcome to GH!

While Hill could very well be correct in this thoughts to your troubles... I'm not quite so eager to tell someone to pull the engine before checking a few more things first. Especially if you think it's possible that the PO put the wrong fluids in.

A 3500 max rpm is very close to 3400... which happens to be the max rpms allowed with a failed SIFB module. This module tells the ECU it's in reverse, when it's not... so the ECU limits rpms to 3400 rpm. I would suspect the SIFB for sure... unless you are truly seeing 3500+ rpms.