Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

+1

Newbie with STX 1100-What Have I Gotten Into?

I'm totally new to PWC other than renting one to ride a couple years ago but my father-in-law was able to get me this ski and trailer for free. The good is it looks to be in decent condition. The bad is it's been sitting outside(under cover) because the last owner put a hole in the block. I am told I have everything except the shortblock. I'm trying to figure out what it's going to cost me to get this back on the water and is it worth it. I have 2 great places to ride so it would be a blast to have but I don't want to put $2000 into a $1500 ski or whatever this is worth. I'm plenty mechanically inclined so I don't mind doing the labor.

Can I get any general tips on things or parts to look for? Any big ticket parts I will need that might be missing? What you see in the pictures below is what I've got.

Any recommendations on getting a shortblock? Things to look for? I've seen a couple on ebay in the $800-900 range. Is that a reasonable price. I was really hoping to not put more than $1000 into this and I know there will be other misc expenses in addition to the shortblock.

+1
    Complete and running well, they are worth about $2000. As you have found, a complete motor is going to run you about $900, if you can find a nice one (I'm looking too for mine) but for $1000 I can have PWCEngines build me one and it has a two year warranty. You don't have that luxury as your engine is missing. You are going to have to buy a used motor if you want to get it back in the water, or you can try and part it out and buy something different.

+1
    Welcome aboard, UnorthodoxCreations!

That looks just like the '98 I bought a few years ago, except mine didn't come with the front cover for the engine.