1995 GTX 650x fuel issue?

Hey I am new to the Sea-Doo community, and I just bought a 1995 Sea Doo GTX and GTS . Both ran great the day I tested them, but took the GTX out to the lake two days later and it was fine for the first 10 minutes, but then started to loose power at WOT and would die. Took it home, and replaced all tempo fuel lines, cleaned both carb filters, replaced plugs, drained the gas tank and added new fuel. Eventually got it started with a little starter fluid and it ran great for the first 5 minutes and then began to loose power again and died. Now it will crank but not turn over. Both plugs have a good spark and the fuel flows easily from the tank. Any Ideas? Does it need the full carb rebuild? Thanks!

This is how I run a jetski shop in the desert nmpeter's Avatar
    +1
    it's 20 years old.

Think the carbs can use a freshup?

lose the starter fluid. If it was in the ski when you got it the engine might have some damage

if the engine cranks but doesn't start, check the engine compression, if you don't have a gauge, ground the plug leads, take out both plugs and put your thumb over the plug hole and crank the engine. You should get a hard push on your thumb. Try the other hole, should be the same. check that the pulse line is clamped at both ends. Confirm the pulse line doesn't leak. Put a teaspoon of gas in each jug, screw the plugs in and try to start her up.
    I would not go thru the trouble of taking a carb apart and not replacing all the bits, especially on something 20 years old.

it's not looking good at the moment that you can't get the engine to start. Often that is rotary valve damage.

welcome to GH.