Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    Banned User
    +1

Let's talk about mods that actually work on the svho

I want to start a debate. I've been in the performance car industry for over 15 years. I've built my share of forced induction vehicles and have countless hours dyno tuning. I miss the days of going to SEMA every year.

There seems to be a lot of products on the market that might make your ski faster from a lighter wallet rather than actual performance.

For example, the "Stage 1 Cooling Mod" I read about today. Just.. no. Sorry, I graduated high school. It doesn't cool your engine better by using a brass T over a plastic one and drilling out a fitting .5mm. Sorry.

Now, other mods like the ribbon delete... yes.

Cold Air intake? Actually... and I can back this up with videos of dyno runs testing on cars... and no. These do not actually do anything for power over a stock airbox. Maybe on highly modified skis with larger wheels, sure. On a stock supercharger? I wouldn't waste the $$. In fact there's dyno tests, on forced induction cars, where an aftermarket air intake made less HP than a factory airbox. You must remember there's A LOT of research and development put into an engine. Some company designing something that looks cool with no flow testing is supposed to work better? Or bolting on a drain pipe with a filter attached? Highly improbable. I don't have the specs of the OEM supercharger on it's air volume, but trust me, if the OEM air intake was "restrictive" it would get sucked into the engine.

Exhaust mods? Oh heck yeah, these are forced inducted motors you want that exhaust OUT. Aftermarket waterbox, rear exit, yes yes yes.

Larger intercooler? Colder you make the air = more power you make. This should be almost the #1 mod for power junkies.

ECU flashes? Where most of the speed will come from (timing).

Impellers? Gotta get your RPM correct.