Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Help my 97 xp will start and run on trailer but it's hard to start in water

I can get it to start when it's not under a load. But when in water it hard to start. I checked compression they are both 140. Just had carbs and fuel pump rebuilt. Still doing it. Any suggestions? This is my first ski I'm new to this

+1
    You'll get differences of opinion on 787's with 140 psi, in my world it's time to show that engine some work and get it back in spec before performance drops off any farther. Depending on where you're at related to sea level that engine has lost 10-15 pounds of compression already and that's all the heads up you need to evaluate it for a new top end at the very least.

You read all the horror stories about engine meltdowns for a reason, most people ignore that 10-15 pound loss and keep on running them because most still run pretty good at those numbers but why isn't your's?

Could be several reasons, take another compression test using a different gauge unless you're using a professional grade calibrated instrument just to be sure it's not lower than 140, 125 psi engines aren't going to start and idle in the water with much more than a box lunch parked on the seat if at all.

How big are you? I have some corn fed beef eating Midwest boys for customers that wouldn't hop their 300 pounds on a 787 powered ski and get it to start and idle for long with a 140 psi motor ever no matter how perfect everything was in tune.

That aside can you turn the pto by hand with the plugs removed without much resistance? Bad pump bearings, thrust washer etc. puts a harder load on the shaft and motor than what should be there and makes starting/idling hard. Turn the pto over several complete revolutions by hand and see if everything feels consistent through the turn. Any noise, hang ups etc. you have issues that are compounded when the pump is under a load.