Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

STX-12f mystery issues

I'm new to jet skis and to this forum, but here's the story. Last Friday, I bought two 2004 STX-12Fs (we'll call them A and B) that had been out of the water since last summer/fall. Cosmetically, they were rough but the engines looked good and they both started up and idled pretty well. The digital displays are non-functional. We took them to a gas station whereby Ski A was full of fuel and Ski B needed about 6 gallons to fill up. Went straight to the lake. Ski B starts up and immediately runs great at 50+ mph. Ski A starts and idles but, when given gas, just limps along like it's running only on one cylinder (even with throttle fully pressed). After a bit, it gets over the bogging and takes off and runs great, matching Ski B in top speed. Every now and then, when it was slowed to an idle, it would do the bogging down again for a while and then kick into good performance. Next day (Saturday), we decide to run them again. The battery in Ski A (the troubled one) is dead. While swapping a fresh battery into it, I can hear the initiation sounds (EFI setup or something) happening even with the key in the off position. That explains the overnight discharge but it points to a stuck relay (but where?) or an ignition issue. I try to run the ski at the lake but it stays in that bogged down mode and never kicks up. On Sunday morning, I put in new plugs (the old plugs were dry, nicely greyish-brown except #2 had a bit more carbon), noticed that the electrical short still existed, but then couldn't get it to fire up at all. I drained most of the gas and put in new. Sunday evening, I can get it to start and idle for a while but it never emerges from bogged down mode. By Sunday night and Monday, the electrical short has gone away but still seems stuck in bogged down mode. Any thoughts? The fact that it was able to demonstrate high performance Friday evening suggests it's something more episodic rather than chronic (like blown head